Defence Dashboard
MaintainedThe reference layer. Every figure carries its source and an as-of date; region status lines are Senapathi assessments, labelled as such. Snapshot dated 4 Sept 2026.
Defence budget FY26-27
₹7.85 L cr
+15.19% YoY
All-time-high Ministry of Defence allocation in Union Budget 2026-27, up 15.19% over FY 2025-26 Budgetary Estimates.
as of 2026-02-01 · source ↗
Indian Navy fleet strength
137 ships & subs
58 more under construction
Navy currently operates 137 ships and submarines plus 264 aircraft; 58 naval ships under construction as of 2025 (PRS analysis of Defence Demands for Grants 2026-27).
as of 2026-02-17 · source ↗
IAF fighter squadrons
29 sqns
vs 42 sanctioned
Fighter squadron strength dipped to 29 — against the sanctioned 42 — after the MiG-21's retirement on 26 Sep 2025.
as of 2025-09-26 · source ↗
Defence exports FY25-26
₹38,424 cr
+62.66% YoY
Record defence exports of ₹38,424 crore in FY 2025-26, up ₹14,802 crore (62.66%) over FY 2024-25's ₹23,622 crore.
as of 2026-04-02 · source ↗
Senapathi assessment
Region monitor
- LAC / India-China border
The 25th Special Representatives round in Beijing on 25 August turned the thaw into a work programme: an eight-point consensus adding two military hotlines and two commander-level meeting points in the eastern and middle sectors, an Expert Group on Boundary Delimitation tasked with an 'early and substantial harvest', a Working Group on Border Management under the WMCC, the trans-border rivers mechanism convened for September, three border-trade passes reopened and a 26th round in India in 2027 — the first concrete de-confliction package since the October 2024 Depsang-Demchok disengagement. Three days later the Tagin Cultural Society alleged PLA camps some 35 km inside Taksing circle in Upper Subansiri, sharpening a July fact-finding report that Indian patrols have not reached Shera 5 Point since 2023; the state, Centre and Army call the claims baseless, but no fresh rebuttal addresses the 28 August specifics and Rijiju's own caveat — the boundary is undemarcated — is precisely the condition under which both sides patrol to their own line. The channels now exist on paper; whether they are 'activated', in the MEA's phrase, will be tested in the eastern sector first. Post-2020 force levels and infrastructure on both sides are unchanged: managed, not resolved.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
Watch -
LoC & Pakistan border
The Makkah Joint Defence Agreement went operational in Istanbul on 31 August, 24 days after signature: the first Strategic Political and Defence Committee sat nine principals — the foreign ministers, defence ministers and service chiefs of Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Pakistan, Field Marshal Munir among them — and opened four tracks (operational interoperability, defence-industry joint development and production, counter-terrorism, and a secretariat framework with a roadmap). Fidan said the first secretary-general 'will be appointed from amongst our Pakistani brothers' — Pakistani reporting puts the term at three years — while the secretariat sits in Riyadh: the member whose military planning is organised around India has been handed the institutional lead for the pact's formative years. No joint command, force commitments or published roadmap yet, and New Delhi — which said on 11 August it was examining the implications — had not responded to Istanbul by 4 September. On India's side the fortnight's change was industrial rather than kinetic: the ₹1,577 crore Fast Track order for 84 systems and 840 100-km loiter munitions (14 August, Tata-NIBE, delivery inside 12 months) is the first large strike-drone buy since Operation Sindoor. The pact remains an architecture rather than an army, but Rawalpindi now enters any crisis holding both a document and a desk.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
Elevated -
Indian Ocean Region
The Hormuz fee regime gave way to gunfire, and the exchange is now in its fifth day: after Iranian attacks on merchant ships on the southern route on 30-31 August, CENTCOM struck IRGC air-defence, radar, maritime, mine-laying and communications targets across 1 September (independent tallies put it at about 100 targets; the June ceasefire's heaviest breach), returned overnight 1-2 September to radar and mine-laying sites on the Hormuz coast, and adopted a 'tanker-for-tanker' rule that puts an Iranian state tanker on the list each time merchant shipping is attacked. Iran answered with missiles and drones at US bases in Jordan (10 of 13 intercepted), Bahrain and Kuwait, then on 3 September at Ahmad al-Jaber in Kuwait and Al Minhad in the UAE; the IRGC says two tankers were disabled by mines on an 'illegal route', which CENTCOM flatly denies. The strait is open but thin: a wartime record of 17-18 million barrels (some 40 escorted vessels) passed on 31 August under US protection against roughly 20 million barrels a day before the war, and Brent touched $97 before closing at $95.52 on 3 September. The memorandum India has treated as the floor under Gulf energy flows is publicly disputed by both signatories — war-risk premiums and Indian Navy escort demand east of Hormuz track exactly this kind of week. To the east the Navy's ₹1,943 crore, 30-month lease of two more MQ-9B Sea Guardians (17 August) doubles its rented long-endurance surveillance while the 31 purchased aircraft wait on 2028 — a bridge, not a fleet — and China's Type 076 remains in trials with no Indian answer.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
High activity - South China Sea / Taiwan strait
China has added geography to firepower: imagery published 14-19 August shows Antelope Reef in the Paracels' Crescent Group converted in about eight months into a 1,460-1,490-acre artificial island — dredging complete, dredgers gone — with 4,300 ft of 180-ft-wide runway earthworks aligned for a 9,000-10,000 ft strip, 200×200 ft hangar footprints and a dredged harbour: the first new South China Sea island in a decade and a second full-length Paracels airfield astride the sea lanes India's eastward trade and its deployments to Vietnam and the Philippines use. In parallel, China Coast Guard 1306 has patrolled the Japan-Philippines claim overlap since 4 August, joined by the survey ship Xiang Yang Hong 3 on 14 August, after Beijing declared the two countries' delimitation talks 'illegal, null and void'. The Scarborough combat-drill package of 31 July-1 August (warships, an amphibious group, YJ-12-armed H-6Ks) stands as the firepower baseline and the Type 076 Sichuan remains in final trials. Building on one reef while contesting talks between two neighbours is a consistent message: shape the geography rather than negotiate it.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
Elevated - Russia-Ukraine theatre
The ground war is still close to frozen but the small movements have changed sign: ISW's 3 September assessment records Ukrainian advances in the Kupyansk direction (~13.5 sq km cleared since 30 August) and tactical progress near Novopavlivka and Oleksandrivka against only marginal Russian gains, with Putin's claims of positions near Sumy city refuted. Russia's strike campaign has not paused — 163 drones overnight 2-3 September across 11 oblasts (135 downed), Geran-5 drones over Kyiv on consecutive days — and the interceptor arithmetic set by August's barrages (24 ballistic missiles on Kyiv on 5 August with none intercepted; a third as many interceptors delivered this year as by the same point in 2025) is unchanged, the Patriot co-production licence raised at the 28 July White House meeting still years from yielding missiles. Ukraine's reach keeps lengthening — a surface-drone strike on the support ship Nefrit at Sochi, ~820 km from Ukrainian-held coast, on top of a refinery campaign that has taken out roughly 20% of Russian refining — while Putin pairs peace language with maximalist demands. For India the theatre still means spares-and-support risk on Russian-origin platforms, plus a live demonstration that magazine depth and licensed or indigenous interceptor production are survival math.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
High activity -
Middle East
The US-Iran memorandum no longer holds even on paper, and the exchange has run five days: after Iranian attacks on merchant shipping in Hormuz on 30-31 August, CENTCOM struck IRGC air-defence, radar, maritime, mine-laying and communications sites on 1 September (independent tallies: about 100 targets) and again overnight 1-2 September, and added Iranian state tankers under a 'tanker-for-tanker' rule. Iran fired ballistic missiles and drones at US bases in Jordan (13 missiles by Amman's count, 10 intercepted), Bahrain, Kuwait and Erbil, then on 3 September declared 'Operation Saeqeh' against Ahmad al-Jaber air base in Kuwait and Al Minhad in the UAE — Kuwait says its air defences intercepted the salvo and was still reporting 'ongoing Iranian aggression' that evening. Tehran's health ministry counts 18 dead and 108-142 wounded, including four civilians at a wedding near Kuhestak (Washington says it is 'extremely skeptical' of the claim); two sailors died on a Saudi tanker; no US casualties. Iran's president offers a return to the June terms; Trump says he is 'not trying to force Iran to the bargaining table', claims 'almost total control' of the strait and does not think the fighting 'will be very much longer'; Netanyahu calls the regime 'teetering'. Around the fighting the region keeps reorganising: the Saudi-Turkish-Pakistani Makkah pact convened its first ministerial committee in Istanbul on 31 August with a Pakistani secretary-general and a Riyadh secretariat, while Gaza operations continue and the Lebanon ceasefire erodes at the edges. For India the exposures are energy (Brent back above $95, Hormuz flows under a hull-for-hull logic), diaspora (missiles now aimed at Kuwait and the UAE, hosts to some of the largest Indian communities abroad) and strategic (the floor it assumed under Gulf flows is gone) — now joined by an alliance question aimed partly at itself.
assessment · as of 4 Sept 2026
High activity
Deals in motion
Procurement pipeline
| Program | Stage | Value | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project-75I submarines (6× TKMS–MDL) | Approved | ₹70,000 crore (reports run to ₹90,000 cr with ToT scope) | Finance Ministry cleared the six-boat thyssenkrupp–Mazagon Dock programme on 28-29 May and contractual negotiations are complete; by mid-August the file was reported headed to the CCS 'soon', with signature — the only step left — targeted for September, but no CCS clearance had been announced by 4 Sep; first boat due seven years after signature | as of 4 Sept 2026 ↗ |
| MRFA — 114 Rafale fighters | Negotiation | ₹3.25 lakh crore (~$34–39 bn reported) | Dassault's techno-commercial proposal reached New Delhi on 6-7 Aug: 114 jets within the DAC-cleared ₹3.25 lakh crore, 20 delivered fly-away and 94 built in India with a Tata final-assembly line and MBDA–L&T, Thales–Mahindra and Safran–HAL pairings, indigenous content rising from 40% to 60%; New Delhi is examining Indian-weapon integration (Astra) and software-access terms, with pricing talks to follow and officials aiming to sign before the end of FY2026-27 | as of 4 Sept 2026 ↗ |
| AMCA fifth-generation fighter | Development | — | Engine race reopened rather than closed: the Safran–GTRE clean-sheet ~120 kN Mk2 proposal (full Indian IP, hot-section ToT, nine prototypes, HAL manufacturing) was reported with the CCS in early August but no clearance had been announced by the expected 15 Aug; between 18 and 29 Aug Rolls-Royce, with Reliance as JV partner and UK High Commission backing, tabled a rival offer — 100% ToT, all development in India, a scalable core from 73–88 kN dry to 120–145 kN reheat, plus a sovereign assurance that the programme would not be scrapped or restricted; cost estimates run ₹30,000–61,000 crore and every detail still awaits official confirmation | as of 29 Aug 2026 ↗ |
| Tejas Mk1A fighters (83 + 97 follow-on) | Ongoing | ₹48,000 crore (83 jets, 2021) | First 20 jets built and through first-phase flight tests (~30 airframes overall), HAL confirmed 21 Jul — production is no longer the constraint, engines are: GE's F404-IN20 count reached 10 after three engines shipped in August (from 7 in July), against a promise of 20–22 more by Dec and a ramp to 24–26 a year; the first IAF handover expected end-Aug–early-Sep had not been reported by 3 Sep, so the 18–24-jets-by-year-end target now rests entirely on the December engine batch | as of 3 Sept 2026 ↗ |
| Anant Shastra QRSAM (Army air defence) | Negotiation | ₹30,000 crore ($3.2–3.6 bn) | Contract still unsigned: BEL's guidance ranges from 'mid-to-late 2026' to 'by the end of FY2026-27' (5-10% risk of slipping to July 2027), with the first production-standard system due 18 months after signature — so first induction now reads late 2027 to 2028, not FY2027; BEL has set aside 75 ha and ₹562 crore at Chitrakoot in the UP corridor for the line, and the 25 Aug blanket approval to transfer every DRDO conventional-missile technology to Indian industry (PIB PRID 2303014) widens the eventual production base beyond the BEL–BDL–L&T consortium | as of 4 Sept 2026 ↗ |
| Project 17A Nilgiri-class frigates | Completed | — | INS Mahendragiri — sixth and final ship — commissioned into the Eastern Fleet at Visakhapatnam on 11 Jul, closing out the class: six frigates inducted in ~18 months, launch-to-delivery halved to 31 months; indigenous content >75% | as of 11 Jul 2026 ↗ |
| Projects 15C / 17B / 18A surface combatants | Planned | ≈₹1 lakh crore (reported) | Reported Navy plan for 16 hulls: 4 next-gen destroyers (₹50,000 cr, RFP within a year), 6 stealth frigates (₹40,000 cr, split MDL–GRSE) and 6 Large Surface Combatants of 14,000–15,000 t — the largest warships ever attempted in India; plans, not yet contracts | as of 10 Jul 2026 ↗ |
| DAC capital-acquisition tranche (Jul 2026) | Approved | ≈₹52,000 crore | Fresh AoNs spanning Akash Tarang anti-UAV EW, MPATGM, MRSAM, V-SHORADS, jet-powered kamikaze drones, naval mines and FW-HAPS | as of 3 Jul 2026 ↗ |
| Project Kusha LR-SAM (XRSAM) | Development | ₹21,700 crore (5 IAF squadrons) | Maiden flight 23 Jul from Abdul Kalam Island destroyed an electronic target simulating a high-speed, high-altitude threat — missile, radars and command centre all DRDO-built; the M1/M2/M3 interceptors of ~150/250/350 km range are to give the S-400 tier an indigenous successor; live-target and user trials still ahead | as of 23 Jul 2026 ↗ |
| Su-30MKI upgrade + 12 new-build (Nashik) | Planned | ≈₹60,000 crore (reported) | HAL to restart the Nashik line for 12 attrition-replacement jets with >50% indigenous content (first delivery 2027-28, all by 2029), while a two-phase fleet-wide upgrade built around an Indian long-range radar takes shape with DRDO and private industry; reported 10 Aug — no formal contract or MoD sanction yet | as of 10 Aug 2026 ↗ |
| MTA — 60 medium transport aircraft | Tender | ≈₹1 lakh crore (~$10 bn) | RFP issued 12 Aug to Indian primes for 60 aircraft (18–30 t, with options beyond) to replace the AN-32: each bidder must pair with a foreign OEM and set up Indian final assembly plus MRO, ~20% delivered fly-away; Tata–Lockheed (C-130J), Mahindra–Embraer (C-390) and a revived HAL–Russia MTA lead the field | as of 12 Aug 2026 ↗ |
| IMRH 13-t helicopter + Aravalli engine (HAL–Safran) | Development | ₹13,500 crore (IMRH D&D case, reported); engine contract value undisclosed | HAL and Safran Helicopter Engines signed the final contract with their 50:50 SAFHAL JV on 26 Aug to design, develop, manufacture and support the 3,500–4,000 shp Aravalli turboshaft for the 13-t IMRH (Mi-17 replacement) and 12.5-t DBMRH — Safran's first co-development of an engine in this class, to be built at Tumakuru, development running to 2032-33; the ~₹13,500 crore IMRH design-and-development case for a ~350-helicopter requirement is reported to be headed for the CCS, with HAL planning ~₹12,000 crore of manufacturing investment by 2030 — contract value, IP terms and milestones undisclosed | as of 3 Sept 2026 ↗ |
Force strength
Fleet watch
| Force | Holding | Strength | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indian Air Force | Fighter squadrons | ~29 (vs 42 sanctioned) | Lowest since the mid-1960s; independent assessments range 29-31. Recovery hinges on Tejas Mk1A/Mk2 deliveries and the 114-jet MRFA buy. | as of 18 Apr 2026 ↗ |
| Indian Navy | Warships in service | 130-140 | Five indigenous warships (two P-17A frigates, one survey vessel, two ASW shallow-water craft) commissioned in June 2026 alone; a new hull joins roughly every 40 days, targeting ~175 ships by 2035. | as of 4 Jun 2026 ↗ |
| Indian Navy | Conventional attack submarines | 16 | 6 Kalvari (Scorpene) + 6 Sindhughosh (Kilo) + 4 Shishumar (HDW), plus 3 Arihant-class SSBNs; the ageing line is to be recapitalised by six P-75I AIP boats from TKMS-Mazagon Dock. | as of 30 Nov 2025 ↗ |
| China PLAN | Battle force ships | 370+ | World's largest navy by hull count per the Pentagon's China Military Power Report; projected to reach 435 ships by 2030. | as of 18 Dec 2024 ↗ |
| Pakistan Air Force | JF-17 Thunder fleet | 175 | Backbone of the PAF: 50 Block 1, 62 Block 2, 26 twin-seat JF-17B, 42 Block 3 (8 more on order); complemented by 20 J-10CE of 36 ordered. | as of 3 Jul 2026 ↗ |
| Indian Air Force | S-400 squadrons | 4 of 5 delivered | Fourth squadron arrived by ship in early June 2026 and awaits operational deployment; the fifth and final unit under the $5.43B 2018 contract is expected in the coming months. | as of 4 Jun 2026 ↗ |
Signed & cleared
Recent deals
- Final contract with the 50:50 SAFHAL joint venture to design, develop, manufacture, supply and support the Aravalli 3,500–4,000 shp turboshaft for the 13-t IMRH and 12.5-t DBMRH — India's first co-developed engine of this class; Tumakuru production, development to 2032-33; unlocks the ~₹13,500 crore IMRH design case now reported headed for the CCS
HAL — Safran Helicopter Engines (SAFHAL JV)
26 Aug 2026 · source ↗
Not disclosed
- 30-month lease of two more MQ-9B Sea Guardian HALE RPAS for the Indian Navy, doubling the rented long-endurance surveillance fleet (two on lease since 2020) and bridging to the 31 purchased MQ-9Bs due from 2028 under the Oct 2024 ~$4 bn FMS deal; converts a 29 Dec 2025 DAC approval in under eight months
India MoD — General Atomics Aeronautical Systems
17 Aug 2026 · source ↗
₹1,943 crore (~$203M)
- Fast Track Procedure (Buy Indian) contracts for 84 loiter-munition systems and 840 100-km munitions for Army Artillery, split 64:36 — TASL (L-1) 54 systems/540 munitions ~₹1,000 cr, NIBE (L-2) 30/300 ~₹580 cr; delivery within 12 months of advance, 60% indigenous content with a 50% floor on materials, components and software; first large strike-drone buy since Operation Sindoor
India MoD — Tata Advanced Systems / NIBE
14 Aug 2026 · source ↗
₹1,577 crore
- Makkah Joint Defence Agreement: trilateral pact declaring any armed attack on one signatory an attack on all, extending the Sep 2025 Saudi-Pakistan Strategic Mutual Defence Agreement to Turkey; no published command structure, basing or nuclear dimension — India says it is examining the implications
Saudi Arabia — Türkiye — Pakistan
7 Aug 2026 · source ↗
—
- AEW&C Mk-II (Netra Mk2) contracts signed: AIESL to convert six Airbus A321s to green configuration; Adani Defence engaged as Development-cum-Production Partner for the mission systems — reportedly the first private Indian firm entrusted with an airborne mission platform of this complexity; induction planned 2032-33, logistics support up to 30 years
DRDO (CABS) — AIESL / Adani Defence
22 Jul 2026 · source ↗
Not disclosed
- Ankara Summit Declaration: €70 bn in military equipment, assistance and training for 2026 with commitments to at least equivalent levels in 2027; separate $40 bn five-year allied drone and counter-drone investment package
NATO allies — Ukraine
8 Jul 2026 · source ↗
€70 bn (2026) + matching 2027 floor